A season of repentance and preparation

The Season of lent

Ash Wednesday begins the season of Lent with a public act of confession and contrition. Acknowledging that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God, we stand in solidarity as fellow creatures before our Creator, acutely aware of our mortality.  In the face of our transience, we pledge ourselves anew to live unto God’s Word in Jesus Christ, the eternal Word that remains forever.

The season of Lent is a time of prayer, fasting and self-examination in preparation for the celebration of the resurrection of the Lord at Easter. It is a period of 40 days — like the flood of Genesis, Moses’ sojourn at Mount Sinai, Elijah’s journey to Mount Horeb, Jonah’s call to Ninevah to repent and Jesus’ time of testing in the wilderness. (The Sundays in Lent are not counted in this reckoning of the time between Ash Wednesday and Easter, as every Lord’s Day is a celebration of the resurrection of Jesus Christ.)

Click here to learn more.

waht is...

The Christian Year?

God has provided a rhythm of seasons which orders life and influences the church’s worship. God’s work of redemption in Jesus Christ offers the Church a central pattern for ordering worship in relationship to significant occasions in the life of Jesus and of the people of God. The Church has thus come to observe the following days and seasons:

  1. Advent, a season to recollect the hope of the coming of Christ, and to look forward to the Lord’s coming again;
  2. Christmas, a celebration of the birth of Christ;
  3. Epiphany, a day for commemorating God’s self-manifestation to all people;
  4. Lent, a season of spiritual discipline and preparation, beginning with Ash Wednesday, anticipating the celebration of the death and resurrection of Christ;
  5. Holy Week, a time of remembrance and proclamation of the atoning suffering and death of Jesus Christ;
  6. Easter, the day of the Lord’s resurrection and the season of rejoicing that commemorates his ministry until his Ascension, and continues through
  7. the Day of Pentecost, the celebration of the gift of the Holy Spirit to the Church.

The church also observes other days such as Baptism of the LordTransfiguration of the LordTrinity SundayAll Saints Day and Christ the King Click her to learn more. 

Click on the image for a simple (humorous?) explanation.